Red SheetSubscribeWhat is my coin worth?About Back to One Dollar

Air Series


The 2011 Air Series is The Royal Australian Mint's third series dedicated to native Australian fauna, following the popular Ocean (2006-7) and Land Series (2008-9). The Air Series encompasses six, uncirculated coins, each depicting different winged fauna on the reverse: a Crimson Rosella, Kookaburra, Major Mitchell Cockatoo, Sacred Kingfisher, Cairns Birdwing Butterfly, and Grey-Headed Flying Fox.

The mint utilised a colour/pad printing process, to capture the surprising colours of the animals.The reverse was created by first striking the coin with a very detailed relief then applying coloured ink to further enhance the design. The result is eye-catching with precise, vivid details and intense colour, paying artistic homage to this stunning species. The obverse features Ian Rank-Broadley's image of Queen Elizabeth II.

Butterfly2011Rosella2011Kookaburra2011Kingfisher2011Flying Fox2011Cockatoo2011
  MintageAU50AU55AU58MS64MS65MS66MS67MS68MS69Butterfly2011 17,00244495361626465260960Rosella2011 24,8924247505758602409403,200Kookaburra2011 25,01937414449505152220920Kingfisher2011 19,3023438404445464748210Flying Fox2011 17,0024550546264652609603,100Cockatoo2011 19,08924252628282829150810Values are in AUD and are retail price estimations based on past sales of coins certified by PCGS or NGC and as such values only related to such graded coins. Uncertified coins or coins graded by other services would likely be worth significantly less. For wholesale pricing please refer to the Red Sheet. While all attempts to ensure accurate pricing, data entry errors can occur and as such no warranty is expressed or implied as to the accuracy of any information published on this website. It is important to verify all published sales to ensure the accuracy of the pricing when making any purchase decision. Any personal information provided to us is protected by the Privacy Act 1988.