Red SheetSubscribeWhat is my coin worth?About Back to One Dollar


2012 - 13

In 2012 and 2013 the Royal Australian Mint released one dollar pieces to celebrate the AFL premierships and its winners.

Australian rules football can be traced back to 1857 when it was proposed by Tom Willis that cricketers could play football as a way to remain fit during the off-season. The Melbourne Football Club was then formed in 1958 with the first match occurring between Scotch College and Melbourne Grammar School. The game grew rapidly and the Victorian Football League was established in 1896 with the foundation clubs being - Carlton, Collingwood, Essendon, Fitzroy, Geelong, Melbourne, St Kilda, and South Melbourne. Richmond, Footscray, Hawthorn and North Melbourne would join by 1925 and these twelve Victorian teams made up the bulk of AFL history in Australia. In 1987 teams from outside of Victioria began to be included with the creation of the West Coast Eagles and the Brisbane Bears. Today the competition is a popular sport nationally with 18 teams.

Hawthorn2013Sydney Swans2012AFL Premiers2012
  MintageAU50AU55AU58MS64MS65MS66MS67MS68MS69Hawthorn2013 Unknown25262729301708704,00016,000Sydney Swans2012 17,50035384044452109403,70013,000AFL Premiers2012 15,000313334381909003,80014,00051,000  MintagePR65DCAMPR66DCAMPR67DCAMPR68DCAMPR69DCAMPR70DCAMSydney Swans2012 Silver Proof3,500      Values are in AUD and are retail price estimations based on past sales of coins certified by PCGS or NGC and as such values only related to such graded coins. Uncertified coins or coins graded by other services would likely be worth significantly less. For wholesale pricing please refer to the Red Sheet. While all attempts to ensure accurate pricing, data entry errors can occur and as such no warranty is expressed or implied as to the accuracy of any information published on this website. It is important to verify all published sales to ensure the accuracy of the pricing when making any purchase decision. Any personal information provided to us is protected by the Privacy Act 1988.